*Sticky Post* RX78 Group Build now Open… Forever! XD *updated 2/6/2010*

*updated with new wip!  2/6/2010*

Hello folks! After see this post by chubbybots, i was excited to get my first RX78 kit. Chubbs suggested that we should make our own group build and i jumped on the idea 😀 So this post is to put up some details and help keep track of all our progress. For those who are interested in joining, the group build starts when you start building ^^ Head to the jump for the fun details!

Basic Rules:

-Anyone is free to join, once you ready and willing.
-Must be an RX78 kit, any scale is fine.
-There will be no time limit, build at your leisure.
-Modding/customization required, can be custom color scheme or major scratch build overhaul.
-Make WIP posts, share your progress and experience.
-Have fun!

If your interested, drop me a mail at rockleelotus101@gmail.com or leave a comment with your blog/site link, type of RX78 kit, and name for you project if you have one and ill add you to the list!

When you guys make a WIP post, ill check your site and add the link below so this can be a one stop spot to see all the progress. Hopefully this idea works out lol if im missing any details let me know.

*If you want to test out how color schemes would look, check out this neat Gundam Line Art Coloring Tutorial by B-Mecha*

Builders:

rockleelotus:
HGUC RX78 Ver. 30th = “Gundam Rider Kiva -Emperor Form-“

WIP:  01020304050607

.

.

chubbybots:
a: HGUC RX78 Ver. 30th = “Uber gritty matte finish RX78” +  b: SD RX78 = “SD Gaogaiger”

a: WIP: 0102 COMPLETED!

b: WIP:

.

.

ren:
HGUC RX78 Ver. 30th= “Eva-01 RX78”
WIP:

.

.

h4mster:
HGUC RX78 Ver. 30th = “Custom color scheme”

WIP: 01020304COMPLETED!

.

.

heathorn:
HGUC RX78 Ver. 30th = “RX 78 K66 Custom”
WIP:

.

.

B-mecha:
HGUC RX78 Ver. 30th = “Custom Titan color scheme”

WIP: 010203 COMPLETED!

.

.

ZoiDieCT:
HGUC RX78 Ver. 30th = “RX-78-2 G30th Z Custom”

WIP: 010203040506 COMPLETED!

.

.

mangyver5223:

HGUC RX-78-2 = “RX78 with Core Block System”

WIP: 010203 COMPLETED!

.

~ by rockleelotus on January 12, 2010.

71 Responses to “*Sticky Post* RX78 Group Build now Open… Forever! XD *updated 2/6/2010*”

  1. Haha sweet 😀 Thanks for making it official man ^^ Better start scratching up!!

    • this has been on the to do list for a while! lol but im not sure how much exposure i will get here. you have more recruiting power than myself man, spread the word 😀

  2. wanna join but sorry pass this time I hate WIP post
    people always talking you should do this,do that,etc,etc,…. and act as if they can do better like in soccer or basketball the supporter always act as if they are better than the players
    sorry rocklee although I planning to buy a RX-78 too I won’t join this time

    • dont be discourage just by making WIP post. build the way you want… and disable comments for your WIP posts! LOL
      well if you change your mind let me know ^_^

  3. I want to join so bad!! ;_______;

    But customization!! XDDD;; I think I might try it though; I’ll look around for some ideas first [and scrape together money first lol]. Hooray, no deadline. XDD

    • and we would love to have youuu!!

      i really wanna encourage customizations, if gunplas are produced forever why not try making a one-of-a-kind 😀 hope you can scrape some cash together and come up with an idea lol trying something small would be great start. well be waiting… forever lol ^^

  4. join us nendo dark side
    I will think about it after back home no time limit right 😀

  5. RX-78 again, how many people love the first ever Gundam 🙂

    Maybe fadhli (http://plutonianrevolver.wordpress.com/) should enter, he just barely post his RX-78-2 WIP.

    • whats not to love 😀

      we been planning this for a while, barely getting to making an official announcement ^^; well have to see if he wants to do mods lol how about yourself? you can join anytime.

      • LOL sorry, I won’t be able to join. I’ve never done any mods before so I don’t wanna pwn my RX78 by accident xD

        Besides I’m planning on making a no grade red frame as my first modded kit..now if only I can find a cheap one~

        • haha true dont wanna mess up that nice 2.0! good luck with finding a cheap red frame, maybe after youve practice you can join in the future XD

      • No I guess.
        never like RX-78 that much, sorry ^^
        Not to mention I don’t wanna mod right now, maybe later.

        • no problem ^^

          i used to not like RX78 too, but he slowly grew on me. even more so after watching the original series, now i think he is bad ass lol

  6. No, dun think i will join as well….. The only RX-78-2 kits are my HGUC Rx-78-2 ver.30th and MG OYW….. And modding… Lol, i not so good at that. So, i will have to skip this till one day my skills get better ^^ Sorry!

  7. Hmm… does mine qualify? not exactly ‘group build’ but more to kit bash xD
    http://mrlonelyheart.wordpress.com/2009/12/22/revisiting-rx-78-2-part3-final/

  8. Well I can’t join you but I can’t wait to see how you guys do! It’s always fun working on projects and seeing the cool things you can make when you give it a try =].

  9. count me in!
    1/144 RX-78-2 Gundam Ver.G30th…..it’s gonna be OOB with (hopefully) custom color 😀
    I’m a little bored with Sazabi, so I’m gonna make this as a run away project 😀

  10. I would gladly join in if I had the tools to mod my RX78-2 G30th (not yet built though) but sadly I don’t. @_@ Since it’s open “forever”, who knows?

    Well, good luck with this “big” group build. ^^

    • not ready but willing, your half way there lol if you can get some tools let me know, theres no rush here ^^

      thanks! i wonder how many participants we will get down the road.

  11. Is SD kit allowed? XD

    I was thinking of customize SD Zaku Warrior or SD Astray… I don’t mind building a customize colour version of RX-78-2 😀

  12. world dominated by RX-78 G30 ?????? @_@
    maybe I should get this kit then
    http://dalong.net/review/hg/h50/h50_p.htm
    not for join this group build of course 😛

  13. Why don’t you start a GN-X Group build when it releases? That would be cool! xD

  14. […] February, maybe a RX-78-2 whenever I have spare cash, and start brainstorming over what to do for Rockleelotus’ RX-78 group build – do go take a look, by the way. The group build is a group effort to encourage modelers to […]

  15. My hguc 30th 78 is still MIB….mwahahahahah
    JOIN! But as for now I have no idea what to do with it.

  16. […] a Comment Categories: Fiction and THE PROGRESS Tags: Gundam, RX-78, WIP My entry for RockLee RX-78 Group Build is starting its […]

  17. I have some idea, but I’m really newbie at doing some modification..
    care to take care of me rocklee or anyone here?

    • of course! ^^ im also new to mods but this group build is aimed towards trying new thing and learning in the process. ill do my best to assist you and im sure the others will put in the same effort in sharing their knowledge 😀

  18. I’m going for RX 78 K66 custom ^^

  19. Being a layman here, all I could do is…
    — wish your group build project all the best.
    — provide morale support 😉

  20. I want an RX78 kit too! I’ve seen one with all the shading for a nice weathered look and it was awesome. I haven’t tried customization yet. ^^; I’ve only one MG kit (Force Impulse) that I’ve finished. I’m hoping to buy more though.

    • oh yea, ive seen a lot of nicely built RX78 that look so awesome! customizing is a huge step and makes your kit unique, it can be a rewarding or disappointing experience depending on how well you do lol

      hope you can pick up a kit yourself! its nice to have the original gundam in your collection ^^

  21. not a chance for me doing a custom gunpla. i have to stop buying other stuff and playing games to do so. ^^’

    Anyway I’ll just cheer you on guys! Go Go Go ! *\o/*

  22. […] or gallery links here. I’ll post them in my new web as soon as it’s ready ^^ Just like Rockleelotus’s RX-78 Group Build, this invitation will last […]

  23. HOLY MUTHA WHAT!!! an OFFICIAL, well close, group built, you ppl are poison, sorry.

    Err uh can a totally “random” stranger announce he wants to join?
    , cause I have an unwanted RX stashed in my backlogs=_=;;;

    • lol anyone is free to join! as long as you plan to add some kind of customization, we aim to promote creating unique kits in this group build ^^

      let me know if your interest and we can start to put that RX78 to good use XD

  24. ohho~
    im still waiting for my RX-78 G30 to arrive~
    when it come to me i’m also will join this~
    ^^

  25. […] Categories: Robots and THE FINISH LINE Tags: completed, Gundam, RX-78 My RX-78 entry for the Group Build is finally […]

  26. count me in now~!!
    RX-78-2 G30th Custom!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  27. I’m back and at last the gundam is done http://www.bmecha.com/mecha-robot-toy/rx-78-2-gundam-group-build-completed/

    • thanks for the heads up, ive been pretty out of it ^^;

      but great job man, thanks for taking part i really like how it turned out! B-mecha style! 😀

  28. http://zd-base.blogspot.com/2010/06/hguc-rx-78-2-custom.html

    done~done~

  29. Wow.. group build… sounds like “group sex” – should be fun…. LOL

  30. The gundam kiva looks nice!!!

  31. Hi, it’s Zack here from gunplapricehunter and just want to let you know that we have open a new online gunpla pricing site.

    Feel free to visit.

    Thanks

Leave a comment